Thursday, July 6, 2017

Benton County Sheriff's Office Recognizes Excellence (Photo)


News Release from Benton Co. Sheriff's Office
Posted on FlashAlert: July 6th, 2017 4:07 PM
Downloadable file: lifesavers.jpg
Downloadable file: BCSO_Awards_6.26.17.pdf
Corvallis, Ore. -- The Benton County Sheriff's Office recently held its annual Awards Event to recognize members for their meritorious service.

"All of our deputies and civilian employees do an exceptional job for Benton County residents," stated Sheriff Scott Jackson, "so it is difficult to single out any one individual."

This year three deputies were recognized with the Life Saving Award.

Deputy Justin Bowers received a Life Saving Award for an incident that occurred on August 30, 2016. Bowers was dispatched to a head-on vehicle crash with serious injuries to multiple people. When he arrived, the scene was very chaotic with heavy rush-hour traffic, blocked in both directions. Deputy Bowers immediately focused on a victim lying in the middle of the street with three bystanders, giving first aid and CPR. The victim was not breathing and they could not find a pulse. Deputy Bowers assisted the bystanders by giving chest compressions. After several moments while Deputy Bowers was doing chest compressions, the victim started breathing on her own. She was transported by ambulance with serious injuries and later transferred to the Intensive Care Unit. As a result of the actions of Deputy Bowers and the three bystanders, the woman recovered from her injuries.

Also receiving Life Saving Awards were Marine Deputies Randal Tugwell and Marshall Dean. These deputies were patrolling the Willamette River in June 2017, when they noticed a young woman struggling in the water. She and some friends were floating down the river in inner tubes. She was intoxicated, had fallen out of her inner tube, and could not get back in. Because she could not keep her head above water, the deputies took action. Deputy Tugwell maneuvered the boat so that Deputy Dean could reach the victim. He eventually had to jump in the river and managed to get the young woman safely on board the marine boat. The marine deputies transported her to the Crystal Lake boat ramp where Corvallis Fire personnel met them and transported the victim to Good Samaritan Hospital. Their actions that day certainly saved the young woman's life.

The Construction Industry Crime Prevention Program recognized Detective Christopher Dale, Corporal Al Schermerhorn, Deputy Rick Fontaine, Deputy Joshua Gordon, and Detective Eric Glass with the "2017 CICP Law Enforcement Award." This award is given to a law enforcement officer
who has worked directly with members and/or staff to aid in the prevention, recovery, or arrest resulting from theft or vandalism on a construction project.

Recognized with Distinguished Service Medals were: Deputy Joshua Hall, Deputy Doree Johnson, Deputy Paul Lancaster, Deputy Randy McInnes, Deputy John Nordyke, and Deputy Joe Yenchik.

Division Employees of the Year were: Sergeant David Iverson, Stacy Mellem, Deputy Ryan Roth, and Emilia Sanguino.

Deputy Ed Nowak received the Benton County Sheriff's Office Employee of the Year award and Sarah Jane Savage was recognized as the BCSO Volunteer of the Year.
Sent via FlashAlert Newswire. Replies to this message do NOT go back to the sender.
Click here to change or delete these messages.

No comments:

Post a Comment